Serendipity Blanket Ta Dah!

IMG_2713

I’m so excited to write this blog post. I love crafting to give to others, in fact most of my makes are for other people, but there has also been something special for me in making my own blanket. I think it helped that I loved the Lazy Waves Blanket pattern by Dedri Uys soooo much. I know I’m repeating myself, but I just cannot say enough how quick and easy the pattern is, yet still fun and interesting. And I do love most yarn, to be fair, but the Drops Nepal Yarn is particularly lovely. I really am in love with the colours and they just all seemed to look great together in any combination. I am really pleased with the finished effect.

Drops Nepal is an Aran (Worsted) weight Yarn and I used a 5.5 mm hook

Drops Nepal is an Aran (Worsted) weight Yarn and I used a 5.5 mm (I think a US I) hook

I am going to keep this blog post quite short (we have had an ill household again. I mean really, who knew you could get flu twice in less than a year?!, although I am now pretty experter at being a flu nurse.) If you missed my last blog post on the blanket planning and colours I used, please have a look here for all the information. And as always, if there is anything I’ve missed out that you would be interested to know, please do ask in the comments.

IMG_2599

Colours from top, clockwise: Purple mix, fuschia, light grey green, orange mix, goldenrod, grey purple, red, forget-me-not, denim, medium blue, royal, pistachio

IMG_2717

And in that last blog post, I told you that I was going to use the 12 colour repeat, 8 times (4 rows from each 50g ball). Well, despite having an A grade in A-level maths, my maths sucked! In all my calculations, I failed to take into account the fact that some of the colours had already been used in the cardigan… Also, my tension obviously varied a bit, and by half way, I was horrified to find that some of my colours had run out way before I was expecting them to. After some stress and prayer, I decided to see how it went and make a call after my 7th repeat as to what I would do.

IMG_2720

In the end I used 2 X 50g ball of each of the 12 colours and an extra 50g ball of light grey green for the border.

When I had finished my 7th repeat, the blanket was measuring 125cm (length) by 145cm (width) (or 49 by 57 inches) which made the perfect size for a lap blanket, so I decided to finish up there. I did a simple border from my Edie book, just double crochet (US single crochet) and chain stitches – Around the Corner Crochet Borders. I only actually did a foundation row of double crochet (US single crochet) on the sides of the blanket. On the end sections, I worked the pattern directly into the wave pattern stitches [I have to ‘fess up that I was a bit lazy/ scared of working out how to do the double crochet (US single crochet) foundation row on the wave sections, without it ending up far too wavy, hence why I tried the edging straight on to the pattern and liked it, so it stayed that way!] The edge on the sides is not ideal, as the Lazy Waves pattern is stretchy and the double crochet is not as stretchy, but if I had put more stitches in, I would have ended up with an overly ruffled effect at the edge and you probably know by now, I like my edge to lie flat, unless it is supposed to be ruffled. [Edit: July 2015: The border is working beautifully, it has not been a problem that it is not as stretchy as the stitch pattern, it is not noticeable at all when I’m using the blanket]

IMG_2723IMG_2731

I will definitely use this pattern again soon, it was so simple and quick – a lap-sized blanket in just over 2 weeks (and that was with not being able to crochet every day due to the illness in the house). I have a lot of blues and greens sat in my yarn stash (from the Lily Pond blanket I never made) so I am thinking of doing a sea blanket for Miss G, who loves blues and the sea – win-win. However, to avoid too many raised eyebrows from Mr T, I am going to tackle that pile of other WIPs (works in progress) first! I definitely want to finish the Happy Days blanket before the summer holidays, as I just have wonderful visions of the girls using it in the back garden over the summer. Hope you are enjoying the sun and that maybe you feel inspired to have a try with the lazy waves pattern 🙂

IMG_2763

6 thoughts on “Serendipity Blanket Ta Dah!

  1. Dedri Uys says:

    Hi Michaela. Your blanket looks lovely and I am so pleased that you like the pattern! I find it just repetitive enough that I don’t have to concentrate, but not so repetitive that I get bored.

    Have a wonderful evening,

    Dedri

    Like

Leave a Reply

