Bunny Cozy Comforter Ta Dah – with tutorial

Happy Easter! I thought it was appropriate timing to do a blog on my bunny cozy comforter. It’s going to be reasonably short and sweet for now, but I do plan to update this at a later date and to give more detail. Please note this is my own tutorial, but not my own pattern. I used a fusion of 3 patterns, with my own twist as you will see… This Mr Bunny has been washed quite a few times, so the yarn has fluffed slightly. Although, on the plus side, this shows that he does wash very well and is a very practical, as well as colourful toy!

IMG_0930

I made the blanket section first, which is how he came about, as at the time I was making him, the wonderful Lucy at Attic24 was doing a Cozy blanket Crochet Along (CAL) and I wanted to try out her new pattern. Whenever I am considering a new pattern, I always do a tester size to see – do I like it? – and of course to make sure I can follow the pattern correctly. You would be surprised, some patterns I think are going to be awesome, just aren’t so inspiring whilst I’m hooking them up. My girls love it, because they get loads of dolly sized blankets, so it’s a win, win all round.  I made the mini blanket with a starting chain of 45 and made 6 pattern repeats, ending with 2 rows of treble crochet (double crochet US) following Lucy’s free pattern: http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/cosy-stripe-blanket.html It’s a great pattern, but I would advise a quick count after the treble rows (double crochet US) as maybe it’s just me (I was pregnant), but I often seemed to have grown the number of stitches and needed to correct.

IMG_0931

The yarn for the bunny comforter was left over from my granny stripe Baby Rainbow Blanket, so scraps of stylecraft special DK 100% acrylic (sport/ 8 ply weight for US folks) in cloud, aster, magenta, meadow, saffron, shrimp and pomegranate, crocheted with a 4mm (G) hook (I took my colour inspiration from Heather at Little Tin Bird – http://www.littletinbird.co.uk/2013/08/11/big-rainbow-ripple/ )  . I did a simple edging of double crochet (single crochet in US terms), with a double crochet stitch in each stitch across the top and bottom edges, with 3 double crochet in each corner stitch and double crochet stitches equally spaced across the sides.

IMG_0937

Next I made the bunny head using a slightly smaller hook 3.5 mm (E), following this Red Heart free pattern: https://www.redheart.com/files/patterns/pdf/LW4210.pdf The pattern is in U.S. Terms, so a UK treble gets called a double crochet, a half treble gets called half double and a UK double crochet is called a single crochet. I simply followed the instructions for making the head and sewed it on to one of the corners of my mini blanket with the cloud yarn I used for the comforter border.

IMG_0941

Finally, I wanted a pom pom tail. I just had to crochet one and found this brill pattern on You Tube from Crafty Deb at www.craftydeb.comhttp://youtu.be/m324YpDY1Nc  and sewed it on the back in the middle. Here is an instructional from Deb on how to sew the tail on so the stitches don’t show through – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ca7y6aGaIjg&feature=youtu.be – NB I know its tempting to skip the ads on these videos, but if you watch them, then the kind person who has taken their time to post the tutorial gets to make a few pennies from your views.

IMG_0669

I hope you enjoy making your own bunny comforter, it was really straightforward, quick and fun! I’d love for you to comment and share your own bunny cozy comforter if you get inspired to make one 🙂

3 thoughts on “Bunny Cozy Comforter Ta Dah – with tutorial

Leave a Reply

